jump to navigation

thief August 14, 2009

Posted by findingherforte in poetry, Uncategorized.
Tags: , , , , ,
trackback

[written May28, 2009]

The box was marked
Fragile
but that didn’t stop
you from
opening it
placing your hands
suddenly
on a work of art
that’s been tucked
away
for reasons more
terrifying
than cautionary
You don’t even
realize
what you’re doing
gently but swiftly

Stealing oxygen
right out of
the tense atmosphere
I occupy
Like pulling a rug
from under my
already unstable feet
I don’t know what
I’m aiming for any
longer, but falling
is unavoidable at
this point

You’ve taken my
sense of direction
thought my heart
is racing to the
finish line
without faulter
You’ve snatched my
only vice, leaving
me with no defense
not even a hello
to hide how
terrified I am
That you’ll take
everything

Comments»

1. Michael - August 16, 2009

you’re sneaky. :)


Leave a Reply

