jump to navigation

Pen Pals May 15, 2010

Posted by findingherforte in Uncategorized.
Tags: , , , , , ,
trackback

It’s been awhile
hasn’t it?
Sitting in on my
life
watching me,
loving me
All the while
putting up with
a bad hostess.
Me.
Where are my
manners?
Please don’t think
I’ve been ignoring you
(you’re hard to
ignore)
It just hadn’t
crossed my mind
to offer you a
cup a tea
(frivolous, I know)
or to strike up
a decent conversation
(why would the
weather interest
*you*? It’s merely
a brush stroke
in a work of
art)

While, in the back
of my mind,
I’ve never thought you
absent,
I haven’t really
*seen*
you lately
Perhaps I haven’t
been looking
A figure with no
definition
At least,
none that we
can all
agree on

Pen pals
suddenly silenced
Tragic, really.
Except, you’ve definitely
been writing
You’re always
writing
(Never knowing
the curse of
writer’s block.
All knowing, huh?)
I haven’t been polite enough
to take the time
to write back

I’m so sorry.
Oh, how silly
of me.
Apologizing like
you haven’t already
forgiven.
You’re always
one step ahead.
I guess that’s
how you got the
job

Pardon me,
I’m rambling.
We should do
this again
sometime.
You’re such a
great listener
and I’m always
up for talking

I’ll be sure to keep in touch.

Tell Jesus hello for me,
Christine

Comments»

1. Anonymous - June 6, 2010

I enjoyed this. Thank you for sharing!

findingherforte - June 9, 2010

:) of course


Leave a Reply

