jump to navigation

God of the Sea January 19, 2012

Posted by findingherforte in poetry, writing.
Tags: , , , , , , ,
trackback

There he stood, his
body of bronze
and there I stood
in jaw dropping awe

Such presence in silence
this god of the sea
I knew who he was
but he didn’t know me

He relaxed his pose
and slowly he said
“What interest have you
in gods that are dead?”

I’ve interest in stories
of love and of rage
such tellings of old
are meant for the stage

And I love how the gods
are willing to trade and
bring you smooth sailing
for the alms you have paid

Your memory lives on
and your legend is great
don’t let the people
decide a god’s fate

And Poseidon, he smiled
“Thank you my friend
I’m not quite ready
for my legend to end”

<3Christine

Comments»

1. Jennifer Stuart - July 14, 2012

Wow, yet again!

findingherforte - July 14, 2012

I owe this one to the beautiful country of Greece. I miss it


Leave a Reply

