jump to navigation

Apple Tree January 24, 2013

Posted by findingherforte in poetry, writing.
Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,
trackback

On my best days
I still think about it
that place that exists only in my mind,
as far as I know.
I close my eyes and
I can feel the gentle breeze
and the grass tickle my ankles
There we have a house,
small but more than enough
We’re rarely inside anyways

We have a bed
and a tea kettle
and one apple tree that
sits outside our window
and taps the glass on stormy nights

We often look toward the horizon
where grass meets sky
and feel nothing but peace

The only reminder of the
world beyond our little house
is the occasional piece of mail
that finds its way to our mailbox
shaped like a bird house

I feel your hand reach for mine
and I smile because
nothing could make this any better

When I open my eyes
real life is blinding and out of focus
but if I squint just right
I can see our one
apple tree

 

 

Comments»

1. Michael - January 24, 2013

I really like this one. you really paint a picture for me. :)

2. 1Heartbeat@atime - January 25, 2013

The last line is my favorite. Nice job


Leave a Reply

