jump to navigation

Linger June 7, 2013

Posted by findingherforte in poetry, writing.
Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,
trackback

The bass is in my chest
and it makes me feel hollow
Recent events, whatever they mean,
make a hard pill to swallow and
There’s no time to feed
the self loathing that’s roaming
in my head and my heart
or blame the rules of the game
So I shrug off the shame
lying bare on my shoulders
and move forward
But the road has grown longer
and meaner, and I don’t
want to linger here in this
faux purgatory more than I have to,
more than I need to
“I’ll pull through, in the end,”
I tell myself, like I’d
tell a friend.
For now I’m a ghost
making the most of
the time that I’m given
to prove I am driven
enough.

Comments»

1. 1Heartbeat@atime - June 10, 2013

I like this alot. Nice job sweetheart


Leave a Reply

